Thirteen Colonies

Go down

Thirteen Colonies

Post  tungduong_9102 on 13th December 2010, 16:31

The Thirteen Colonies were established by Great Britain on the Atlantic coast of North America between 1607 and 1733. In 1776 they declared their independence and formed the United States of America. They extended from what is now Maine (then part of the Province of Massachusetts Bay) in the north to the Georgia in the south, were: Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Georgia, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maryland, South Carolina, New Hampshire, Virginia, New York, North Carolina, and Rhode Island.[1] Each colony developed its own system of self government.

Other British colonies in the British West Indies and Canada remained loyal to the crown through the war, although there was a degree of sympathy with the Patriot cause. However, their geographical isolation and the dominance of British naval power precluded any effective participation.

green products directory
toronto restaurant coupons


Number of posts : 183
Registration date : 2010-11-19

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum